Skip navigation
Return to Blog Home

Alumni Advisory Board 2020 Election

  • Author:

    MSU Alumni Office

  • Published:

    Sept. 18, 2020

MSU Homecoming 2020 | Bucket ListPictured Back Row Left to Right: Andrew Corsi, Kurt Rothhaar, Jeremy Blaney and Steve Culp
Picture Front Row Left to Right: Carla Clark, Amy McGraw, Brittanie Johnson, Sara Cantwell, Tom Duncan and Paris Ross 
Missing From Photo: Robert David

The MSU Alumni Advisory Board Elects New Executive Officers & Member

The Michigan State University Alumni Office is pleased to announce that Kurt Rothhaar of University City, MO has been elected as president of the MSU Alumni Board. Rothhaar is a 2004 graduate of the Honors College and College of Engineering earning a BS in Computer Science. He has been an active volunteer and donor as well as an active member of the board over the past four years. He is also a former recipient of a distinguished alumni award given to Spartans age 40 or younger who have distinguished themselves through a high level of professional accomplishment early in their career and a strong commitment to MSU through outstanding continuous volunteer service on behalf of the university and/or participation and leadership in meritorious public service on a local, state, national or international level. “The MSU Alumni office is looking forward to Kurt’s leadership and passion for MSU and enhancing engagement opportunities for our alumni base,” stated Nick McLaren, Executive Director of the MSU Alumni Office. “Kurt has a great deal of experience working with the St. Louis Spartans, involvement with the College of Engineering and knowledge of the MSU Alumni Board.”

Sarah Cantwell of Chicago, IL will begin her new role as immediate past-president. Cantwell received a BA in 2003 in Social Relations from James Madison College and an MPA in 2005 from the College of Social Science. “Sarah has been instrumental in the transformation of the Alumni Board and has been an incredible asset to the entire alumni office,” commented McLaren.

Brittanie Johnson of Minneapolis, MN was elected vice president of the board. In 2009 she earned a BA in International Relations from James Madison College and a BA in Supply Chain from the Broad College of Business. “Brittanie is an incredible asset to the board,” stated McLaren. “We are looking forward to Brittanie’s leadership and involvement assisting with the MSU Alumni Office’s development of an employer-based alumni relations model.”

Robert David, Alumni Board Member

MSU also added a new member to the MSU Alumni Advisory Board. Elected to a two-year term on the board is the Honorable Robert David of Novi, MI and Bonita Springs, FL. David is a 1978 graduate of the Broad College of Business. He has served fellow MSU Alumni in various capacities including as former secretary of the MSU National Alumni Board, former president of the MSU Alumni Club of Oakland County, MI, and as past president of the Broad College Alumni Association. Rob is the recipient of the prestigious Broad College Outstanding Alumnus Award and received an MSU Alumni Service Award for his contributions and service to the University. “I am pleased to welcome Rob as our newest board member,” explained McLaren. “With his lengthy background of service to MSU, I know that he will be able to contribute from day one.”

Board members Carla Clark, BA ’88, Steve Culp, BA ’03 and Amy McGraw, BA ’89, were elected to a second term of board membership.  All the positions are effective July 1, 2020.

“I wish to thank the returning members for their continued service and am looking forward to working closely with the newly elected officers,” said McLaren. “We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful group of dedicated MSU graduates who have answered the call and agreed to serve their over 500,000 fellow alumni as members of the MSU Alumni Advisory Board. I count on these individuals to provide me and our team with direction and feedback as we continue to provide services to all MSU alumni across the country and around the world.”