Skip navigation
Return to Issue

Class Notes

  • Author:
  • Published:
    Winter 2016


JERRY L. JOHNS, MA ’66, PhD ’70 (Both in Education), was inducted into the Reading Hall of Fame and was awarded the William S. Gray Citation of Merit by the International Literacy Association.


DAVID HIRSCH, ’70 (Social Science), is the coauthor of Abraham Lincoln and the Structure of Reason, a book published by SavasBeatie.

HENRY BUTLER, MA ’74 (Music), who is a blind pianist, recorded original music for Twyla Th­arp’s 50th Anniversary dance troupe.

DEBRA AXELROOD, ’77 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), joined SmithGroupJJR in Ann Arbor as a landscape architect.

KEVIN COCOZZOLI, ’78 (Engineering) and his cousin TOM COCOZZOLI, ’77 (Social Science), co-published a single panel cartoon book titled, Cartoons that Changed the World.

CAROLYN KRIEGER-COHEN, ’78 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been inducted into the 2015-16 VIP Woman of the Year Circle by the National Association of Professional Women.


PATRICK MOORE, PhD ’80 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), was awarded with the 2015 Wilder Medal, the top award of the American Pomological Society.

JEFF ALEXANDER, ’84 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was named a communications o?cer for the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation’s grant-making team in Flint.

CHRIS WIGENT, MA ’86 (Education), was named executive director of the Michigan Association of School Administrators.


JULIE MARTIN, ’90 (Business), was named as one of the 100 Leading Women in the North American Auto Industry by Automotive News.

SCOTT STOWITTS, ’92, MS ’94 (Both in Engineering), was named project director by Barton Malow Company in South Field.

JULIE VANDENBOSSCHE, ’92, MS ’95 (Both in Engineering), received the 2015 Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement by the American Concrete Pavement Association.

KEVIN TOBE, ’97 (Natural Science), MA ’01 (Education), was awarded the 2015- 16 Milken Educator Award for Michigan. He is a math teacher at Haslett High School.

LaTRESE ADKINS, MA ’98, PhD ’03 (Both in Social Science), designed and wrote a grant for the Dallas County Community College District campuses and was awarded funding through the Predominately Black Institutions Discretionary Grant Competition by the U.S. Department of Education.

UKSUN KIM, MS ’99 (Engineering), was promoted to full professor in the department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at California State University at Fullerton.

KERRY SHADBOLT,’99 (Arts and Letters), MA ’07 (Education), was named the 2016 Michigan Art Teacher of the Year and the Secondary Level Art Educator of the Year by the Michigan Art Education Association.


SALIL PRABHAKAR, PhD ’01 (Engineering), developed the “fi­rst in world” iris-scanning smart phone technology that was introduced in Fujitsu’s Arrows NX F-04G smartphone.

CHRISTOPHER BROOKS, ’01 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was named host of a nationwide live daily call-in show on Mood Radio’s stations called, Equipped with Chris Brooks.

ROMAN MACUDZINSKI, ’03 (Business), owns A2i Wheel and Tire in Holt, and was named a Michigan Economic Bright Spot Award Winner by ECorp! Magazine.

ADAM STEVENS, ’04 (Business), was recently named to 35 under 35 by Specialty Equipment Market Association.

DAVID SMITH, ’05 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was featured on Fortune. com, and is the founder of Vexti, where he helps business owners solve their website headaches by teaching them how to use platforms designed to meet their needs.

E. MISSY WRIGHT, MS ’05, PhD ’13 (Both in Education) achieved Certifi­ed Consultant status of the Association for Applied Psychology.

STEPHANIE TABASHNECK, ’08 (Social Science, James Madison), published a coloring book, Dream Big! More than a Princess, that depicts girls of color in high-profi­le jobs to help empower young girls.

KATIE GUZMAN, ’09 (Communication Arts and Sciences), co-founded Sera­n Juice, a cold-pressed juice company, with her sister, Amy Sera­n.


SHANNON MOREY, ’10 (Natural Sciences, Honors) was chosen as a member of the 2015 cohort of Teaching Fellows by the Knowles Science Teaching Foundation. Morey is in her fi­rst year as a teacher at East Boston High School.

GARY D. LEWIS JR., MS ’13 (Social Science), was sworn in as the Chief of Police at Cleveland State University in September 2015.

DONDRÉ YOUNG, ’14 (James Madison) and SARAH MURRAY, MS ’15 (Social Science), joined the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation in Flint as program assistants.