Skip navigation
Return to Issue

Class Notes

  • Author:
  • Published:
    Summer 2016
FREDERICK T. SELAK,  ’62 (Social Science), has finished his novel Empty Suits, based on his time in the business world. 
DAVID M. BOTTRILL, ’64 (Business), started his own scholarship program in Phoenix, Arizona, for student-athletes from impoverished homes.  
PATRICIA D. STOKES, ’64 (Social Science), a professor of Psychology at Barnard College has published a new book, Creativity From Constraints in The Performing Arts. 
MAGGIE A. POWERS, ’74 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has been named to the American Diabetes Association’s Board of Directors. 
ALAN S. GOROSH, ’75 (Social Science), JD ’78 (Law), was inducted into the College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers.
GEORGE C. KANDLER, ’76 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), was named vice president of Professional Services of the Michigan Housing Council’s Board of Directors. 
MICHAEL C. HYTER, ’78 (Business), has been named one of the “Top 100 Most Influential Blacks in Corporate America” by Savoy Magazine. 
THOMAS L. KEON, PhD ’79 (Business), has been nationally recognized for his commitment to diversity and inclusion as chancellor-designate of Purdue University Northwest and chancellor of Purdue University Calumet.
SHARON SIMON-WENZL, ’81 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was promoted to senior vice president, Corporate Communications and Community Affairs, at global automotive supplier Cooper Standard. 
CHERYL L. YOUNG, ’82 (Communication Arts and Sciences), will serve a three-year term on the Pennsylvania Bar Association Board of Governors as an at-large governor representing unit county bar associations.
KAREN E. BOUFFARD, ’84 (Arts and Letters), received a 2015 Communication Award from the National Academies of Science, Engineering and Medicine for her series in The Detroit News about infant mortality in Detroit. 
EDWARD J. LOPEZ JR., ’84 (Social Science), was named president and chief executive officer of Delta Dental New Mexico, the leading dental benefits carrier in New Mexico.  
JOHN A. BELDEN, ’85 (Business), president and CEO of Davidson Hotels & Resorts was recently profiled by Lodging Magazine for the launch of Pivot Hotels & Resorts, a new lifestyle division. 
CHRISTINE S. LONSKI, MA ’85 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has earned an Honorable Mention in the national 2015 Self-Published Book Awards for her biographical book, The Bootleg Buggy: Stories of My Polish Family.
JOSEPH OFORI-DANKWA, MLIR ’86, PhD ’87 (Both in Social Science), was awarded The Bank of America Ruben Daniels Community Service Award at Saginaw Valley State University’s All-University Awards Banquet. 
LINDA J. HAMBURGER, MA ’87 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was honored by the Association for Women in Communications South Florida Chapter for her achievements in public relations, advocacy and as a mentor through her role as the founder of the South Florida Public Relations Network.
DARIUS E. ADAMCZYK, ’88 (Engineering), was recently named the first president and chief operating officer at Honeywell International Inc. 
CHRISTOPHER R. BOMMARITO, ’88 (Social Science, Natural Science), was awarded the Criminalistics Sections “Paul L. Kirk Award” at the American Academy of Forensic Sciences 68th Annual Scientific Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada. 
MATTHEW G. MUNN, ’90 (Business), is celebrating 25 years with UHY LLP, a CPA licensed firm in Sterling Heights. 
LISA A. HESSELINK, ’91 (Communication Arts and Sciences), founded the S.D. Strong Distilling Company. 
RASHAWNDRA D. OUTLAW, ’95 (Engineering), received a Science Spectrum Trailblazer Award at the 2016 Black Engineer of the Year Awards STEM Conference for her work with General Motors.
KRUNALI T. PATEL, MS ’95 (Engineering), was elected vice president of Centralized Analog Design at Texas Instruments Inc. 
REBECCA L. PRATT, PhD, ’97 (Natural Science), was named a professor of Human Anatomy at MSU’s College of Osteopathic Medicine.
JASON S. SCHOENMEYER, ’97 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), won the Thomson Award for Empowering Learning in Community Engagement at Saginaw Valley State University’s All-University Awards Banquet. 
KENNETH C. PAULUS, ’99 (Social Science), ’00 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was awarded for new medical innovation with his company URise Products’ launch of the StandUpWalker.
AMY L. DAMON, MS ’01 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), received tenure at Macalester College as an associate professor of Economics and Latin American Studies.
ADAM M. COUGHLIN, MS ’02, PhD ’05 (Both in Education), was awarded the Terry Ishihara Award for Outstanding Co-Curricular Involvement at Saginaw Valley State University’s All-University Awards Banquet. 
RUTH A. KALENIECKI, MA ’02 (Arts and Letters), has been named as a program officer at the Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan.
ALEXANDER R. MILLER, MA ’02 (Education), began his new role as assistant dean of Student Life at Harvard College in June 2016. 
CELESTE A. CLARK, PhD ’04 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), was named to the Board of Directors at AdvancePierre Foods.
NATHANIEL J. HARGRESS, ’04 (Arts and Letters), was the recipient of the Rising Star Award from the Association of Media and Entertainment Counsel in Hollywood, California.
BENJAMIN E. CHUTZ, ’06 (Social Science), founded Birdhouse, a mobile app for families raising children with autism and other developmental disabilities. The app is being used by more than 10,000 families worldwide.
CHRISTIE L. DAISS, ’06 (Lyman Briggs), a pharmacist at the MSU Clinical Center, will travel to the Rio 2016 Olympics as part of the medical team.
COREY GUT, ’01, DVM ’03 (Veterinary Medicine), just published a book entitled Being Brave for Bailey that gently explains the death of a pet to children. 
CLARE E. JAGENOW, ’06 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has been elected president of the American Society of Landscape Architects Michigan Chapter after serving as an active member for more than 10 years.
GRETCHEN L. KLOSTERMAN, ’09 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has joined Eisbrenner Public Relations as a senior account executive.
QUILL K. PHILLIPS, MA ’12 (Education), will chair the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Council as special assistant to the President for Diversity, Equity & Inclusive Excellence at the Community College of Aurora, Colorado.
MARY PARKINSON, ’14 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been named an assistant account executive at Franco Public Relations Group in Royal Oak. 
JOLISA L. BROOKS, ’15 (James Madison), was awarded a 2016 Donald M. Payne International Development Fellowship.