Skip navigation
Return to Issue

Class Notes

  • Author:
  • Published:
    Fall 2015

’56 (Natural Science), was named National Scientist of the Philippines, the only veterinarian in the Philippines ever to receive the designation.

PHYLLIS C. MARION, ’66 (Arts and Letters, Honors), was inducted into the American Association of Law Libraries Hall of Fame.

JOSE V. SARTARELLI, ’75 (Business), has been named chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

SUZANNE MURRMAN, MA ’77 (Social Science), was conferred the title of professor emerita by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors.

(Engineering, Honors), was appointed vice president of North American Operations for Cooper Standard in Novi.

BROOKE WISEMAN, MA ’79 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was elected the 126th president of the Union League Club of Chicago.

MARY D. LAGERWEY, MSN ’82 (Nursing), has been appointed director of the Western Michigan University Bronson School of Nursing.

(Natural Science), was invited to speak at the Blade and Light International Skin Cancer Symposium in Curitiba, Brazil.

KENNETH E. HARTMAN, MA ’84 (Education), received the Outstanding Civilian Service Award by the U.S. Army, one of the highest awards bestowed upon private citizens.

ROGER W. REINI, ’85 (Engineering, Honors), was honored with the 2014 James M. Crawford Technical Standards Board’s Outstanding Achievement Award by SAE International.

ANN MARIE WILLIAMS, ’90 (Business), has joined Grant Thornton LLP as a partner in Charlotte, North Carolina.

LINDA MEEUWENBERG, MA ’90 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was featured on the cover of RDH Magazine for her work in the field of dental hygiene. She also is CEO of Professional Development Association, Inc.

LEIGH METHOD, ’90 (Business), has been appointed as a senior level executive in the U.S. Air Force and is a member of the Civilian Executive Service.

ELIZABETH CAREY, ’91 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was named president and CEO of Starr Commonwealth in Albion.

MONIQUE HONAMAN, ’92 (Social Science), has been elected to serve on the board of directors for Girl Scouts of Greater Atlanta.

MAGGIE SANS, ’92 (Social Science), was appointed to the National 4-H Council’s Board of Trustees.

JAMES G. WESTBURY II, ’92 (Business), was promoted to vice president, Financial Planning and Analysis, at Technology Credit Union, located in San Jose, California.

(Engineering), has been named a patent attorney for the intellectual property practice group at Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
in Chicago.

APRIL CLOBES, ’94, (Business), MA ’00 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was named president and CEO of MSU Federal Credit Union in Lansing.

ALEC MULL, ’95 (Education), has been promoted to vice president of brewing operations at Founders Brewery in Grand Rapids.

BUSHRA MALIK, ’96 (James Madison), was named chair of the 2015 American Immigration Lawyers Association’s Global Immigration Forum in Washington, D.C. in June.

JULIE GRONEK, ’96 (Human Medicine), was appointed to the Brain Injury Association of Michigan’s Board of Directors.

MIKE NIEDERQUELL, ’98, MS ’99 (Engineering), was promoted to senior associate for Spicer Group, Inc., an engineering and architectural firm in St. Johns.

KEVIN SUTTON, ’99 (Social Science), was honored with the Everyday Hero Award at the annual “Night of Heroes” event, a program of Winning Futures in Southeast Michigan.

PARESH PATEL, ’01 (Business), received P&G Professional’s “Community Hotelier of the Year Award,” in Jacksonville, Florida.

BRANDON SPORTEL, ’01 (Social Science), won the Milken Educator Award and $25,000, a national award presented by the Milken Family Foundation to “reward and inspire excellence in the world of education by honoring top educators around the country.”

ALICIA D.D. SPOOR, ’02 (Communication Arts and Sciences, Honors), has been named to the Daily Record’s list of Very Important Professionals Successful by 40 list in Baltimore, Maryland.

ANGELINA ZELLER, MA ’03 (Education), was named one of the 67 Influential Educators Who Are Changing the Way We Learn, a list curated by Noodle.

SCOTT EBENHOEH, ’03 (Natural Science) DO ’09 (Osteopathic Medicine), joined the Alaska Heart & Vascular Institute as a member of their team of cardiovascular physicians in Anchorage, Alaska.

EVAN J. LEIBHAN, ’04 (Business), was elected to the board of directors of Kadima, a social service agency serving individuals with mental illness in Oakland County.

HALLEE WINNIE, ’06 (Social Science), was named executive director for Pi Beta Phi Foundation in Kansas City, Missouri.

WILL ELKINS, ’08 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been named the communications and social media manager for Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio.

ANDREW RICKERMAN, ’13 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been promoted to assistant account executive at Eisbrenner Public Relations in Royal Oak.

ALYSON FLOOD, MS ’14 (Engineering), has joined Prein&Newhof as a full-time member of the Grand Rapids office.

ABUZAR ALISHANOV, ’14 (Natural Science), joined the Peace Corps and is in Tanzania.

BRIAN MERK, ’15 (Engineering), joined Prein&Newhof’s airport team to oversee construction at Gerald R. Ford International Airport in Grand Rapids.?