Skip navigation
Return to Issue

Class Notes

  • Author:
  • Published:
    Winter 2017


LORAINE M. HOPPE, ’49 (Business), celebrated her 90th birthday this November with her twin brother.

DEAN F. ABBOTT, ’61 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has been named a Pioneer of American Landscape Design by The Cultural Landscape Foundation.

RICHARD E. TOMLINSON, ’57, ’64 (Both in Business), has published the book Hustling With Hubris: When Making a Deal is Paramount.

GARY F. JONES, ’68, DVM ’69 (BOTH In Veterinary Medicine), has published his second novel, A Jerk, a Jihad, and a Virus.

JAMES D. SPANIOLO, ’68 (Social Science, honors college), has been selected as president and CEO of North Texas Commission, a nonprofit.


KEITH A. ASHMUS, ’71 (James Madison, honors college), MA ’72, (Social Science), has received the William Booth Award from The Salvation Army.

JOHN M. ENGLER, ’71 (Agriculture and Natural Resources, ’91 HONORARY DOCTOR OF LAWS), has joined the Barbara Bush Foundation Board of Directors.

R. JAMES PAAS, ’72 (Social Science), president and founder of Mistequay Group, Ltd., was recently honored in celebration of his 25 years in business.

ROGER A. MACNAUGHTON, ’73 (Music), has won his fourth ArtPrize Music Award for the “Classical Music” category.

DAVID L. JOYCE, ’78, MS ’80, (Both in Engineering), has been named a company vice chair at General Electric, leading GE Aviation and manufacturing.

MICHAEL J. HAVALA, ’82, MBA ’84 (Both in Business), has been named president and CEO of Loaves & Fishes Community Services.

KELVIN B. SQUIRES, ’82 (Engineering), has been named the majority owner of Center Line Electric.

LISA A. DANCSOK, ’83 (Communication Arts and Sciences), MBA ’96 (Business), has been named the vice president of marketing and communications at The Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan.

SUSAN R. STACK, ’83 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has received the designation of Certified Film Commissioner from the Association of Film Commissioners International.

JENNIFER A. MACHIORLATTI, ’84 (Communication Arts and Sciences), MA ’89 (Arts and Letters), has received a Distinguished Teaching Award from Western Michigan University.

GERARD T. DONNELLY, PhD ’86 (Natural Science), has been awarded the 2016 J. Sterling Morton Award for a lifetime of service to the Arbor Day Foundation.

TIMOTHY J. LEVY, ’86 (Business), has been elected as the 2017 board president of the Metal Treating Institute.


BENJAMIN M. COX, ’96 (James Madison, Honors College), has premiered his first film, Better Off Single.

CHRISTOPHER J. MUNDY, ’96 (Social Science), has received the 2016 Community Service Award from Chicago Association of Realtors.

SHANE L. SILSBY, ’97, MS ’00 (Both in Engineering), has been named the American City & County 2016 Public Works Leader of the Year.

ERICA L. WILLARD, ’99, MA ’07 (Both in Social Science), has been announced as the new executive director of  the Michigan Association for the Education of Young Children.


JENNIFER A. HEEMSTRA, ’00 (Music), has received the Secretary of State Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad.

TANAYA C. EVERSON, ’01 (Natural Science), has been named the dental director at the Western Wayne Family Health Centers.

ELIZABETH J. SUVEDI, ’01 (Business), has created Culinary Expedition, a passion project teaching culinary arts and social engagement.

SEAN D. MADAY, ’05, MS ’10 (Both in Social Science), has published a children’s book, How The Bunny Learned to Fly.

LAURA C. CASAI, ’06 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has been announced as a member of the Oakland County, Michigan, Executive’s Elite 40 Under 40 Class of 2016.

LINDSAY M. TIGUE, ‘07 (Arts and Letters, Honors College), has published System of Ghosts, a collection of her Iowa Poetry Prize winning work.

CHELSEY B. SHIVLEY, ’08 (Lyman Briggs, Honors College), DMV ’12 (BOTH IN Veterinary Medicine), was selected to be an American Veterinary Medical Association Congressional Science Fellow.

TODD J. DUCKETT, and his brother Tico, returned to Kalamazoo Central High School to support the Cross-Town Crush Cancer Call to Action football game.

BRETT S. KOPF, ’09 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has created the software Remind with his brother David, and serves as CEO of their company.


JENNIFER A. CHURCHILL, MA ’10 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been named director of marketing and communications for Central Michigan University’s College of Medicine.

KAITLIN A. APRILL, ’11 (James Madison), was promoted to office manager at Junior Achievement of Central Maryland Inc.  

MICHAEL S. KAZANOWSKI, ’12 (Social Science), and ADAM S. KAZANOWSKI, ’13 (Business), have created and co-own Gypsy Vodka.

JEREMY F. REDMAN, ’12 (Business), has launched the social network AirFive, aimed at recent college graduates.

CASEY E. SHIPMAN, ’12 (Arts and Letters), has joined Worldwide Fistula Fund as marketing coordinator.

THERESA A. SQUIRES, ’13 (Social Science), has been named assistant director of the Michigan Disability Rights Coalition.

GEOFFREY G. GEIST, ’14 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been hired as a digital marketing specialist at Franco Public Relations Group.?