Skip navigation
Return to Issue

Class Notes

  • Author:
  • Published:
    Summer 2017


JOSEPH M. COLUCCI,’58 (Engineering), was honored with the SAE Arnold W. Siegel Humanitarian Award.



MICHAEL B. SERLING, ’66 (Social Science), JD ’70 (Law), and his wife Elaine, have been named Beaumont Health Trustees.

H. ROY AUSTIN,MBA ’67 (Business), has published a user manual for small businesses, The Alligator Business Solution.


JOHN E. JACOBS,’68 (Business), was honored by the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Detroit with the William Davidson Lifetime Achievement Award.

ELIZABETH C. MOOSE,’69 (Business), has joined the Board of Governors of the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum.

,MBA ’70 (Business), has been named Sperry Van Ness Internationals Humanitarian of the Year.


ANN INGALLS,’71 (Education), has published multiple childrens books and taught special education in Kansas City.


THOMAS R. MILLER,’71, MA ’76 (Both in Communication Arts and Sciences), has joined the Braille Institute of Americas Board of Directors.


CAROLYN L. FORCHE,’72 (Justin Morrill, Honors College), has receivedYale Universitys 2017 Windham-Campbell Prize for poetry.

JACK M. DEMPSEY,’74 (James Madison), has been named executive director of the Michigan History Foundation.


NICHOLAS A. HILL, ’74 (Arts and Letters, Honors College), was awarded a 2017 Guggenheim Fellowship for his work as an artist, printmaker, and curator.


PEGGY A. BERG, ’78 (Business), has been promoting womens leadership programs in the hospitality industry by launching a nonprofit, the Castell Project, Inc.

STEVEN R. DREXEL,’79 (Business), has been named to Staffing Industry Analysts Staffing 100 List for 2017.


COLEEN M. KING,’83 (Communication Arts and Sciences), president of King Media, was awarded an Honorable Mention in the PR News Social Media Awards for having the best Facebook marketing campaign.

DAVID D. HOFFMAN,’85 (Social Science), was appointed district judge by Governor Snyder to the Saginaw County District Court.


TERRI J. WOODIN,’88 (Business), has been promoted to vice president of marketing and global meeting services at Meeting Sites Resource.


AMY T. ASTLEY, ’89 (Arts and Letters, Honors College), has been named editor-in-chief of Architectural Digest.


PERRY S. RICHARDS,?89 (Business), was named among the top 1,200 financial advisors in the country by Barron’s.

DAVID W. ROUSH,PhD ’89 (Social Science), has retired as the protection from harm expert for the Civil Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice.



STEVEN E. OPREA,’90 (Arts and Letters), was part of a team that created Hydrocarbon Hunt, a basic chemistry education app, and returned to Michigan to share it with Detroit public schools.

RABBI ROBERT A. NOSANCHUK,’91 (Arts and Letters), has been selected as co-chair of the Greater Cleveland Congregations.

MICHAEL J. CAYEN,’93 (Business), has been honored with the prestigious National Tax-Deferred Savings Association Elite Advisor Award.


MICHELE L. PAYN,’93 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has published Food Truths from Farm to Table, which reached a #1 New Release on Amazon.


TIMOTHY P. FINERTY,’94 (Business), a shareholder for the Clayton & McKervey CPA firm, is a founding member of the new Great Lakes Chapter of the United States-Mexico Chamber of Commerce.  


ROBERT H. REMPE,PhD ’95 (Arts and Letters), has had his research on the 1934 operetta “Rose of the Danube” featured in The Wall Street Journal.  

SUSAN F. MYERS,’96, DVM ’98 (Both in Veterinary Medicine), has been elected president of the American Association of Small Ruminant Practitioners.


JUSTIN T. TRAPP,’99 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has joined the JRT Agency, a digital marketing company, as a senior copywriter.


PRIYA BALASUBRAMANIAM, MBA ’01 (Business), Apples vice president of iPhone operations, has been listed as No. 5 on Business Insiders most powerful female engineers of 2017.


MICHELLE MOORE-ROBINSON,MA ’02 (Education), was named the 2017 DoDEA Elementary Principal of the Year for her work as principal of Kinser Elementary School in Japan.

JOSHUA D. MERCHANT, MS ’03 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has been named president of Buena Vista University.

JENNIFER L. BUSTARD,MA ’04 (Education), principal of Mona Shores High School in North Shores, has received an MSU Distinguished Alumni Award.  


KASSANDRA L. SEDEGAH, ’04 (Business), will open a second location for her hair removal salon, Bare Skin, in Tampa, Florida.


ADANMA C. AKUJIEZE, ’06 (Business, Honors College), has joined Larson Design Group as vice president of finance.

JOHN D. MCGREGOR,06 (Business), has graduated as a diplomat for the State Department, and will represent the U.S. embassy in the Philippines.

ZACHARY J. HODYNA, ’07 (Social Science), has graduated as a diplomat for the State Department, and will represent the U.S. embassy in Panama.


JEFFREY T. LUMPP, ’07 (Business), was promoted to president of the Grand Rapids office of Hylant, a Midwestern brokerage firm.


ELIZABETH A. ROBBINS-SABOURIN,MA’07 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was promoted to account director at Franco Public Relations.


DEREK J. L’HUILLIER,’08 (Business), has joined Macatawa Bank as the branch manager of their Grand Haven office.


STEPHEN D. PACE, MS ’08, PhD ’11 (Both in Engineering), was awarded a National Urban League Young Professionals Honors Award.


ADAM M. BLAYLOCK, ’09 (James Madison), has joinedSouthfield’s multi-specialty law firm, Maddin, Hauser, Roth & Heller, P.C.


AMBER M. HUPP, PhD’09 (Natural Science), has joined the faculty of Holy Cross College as a tenured professor in the chemistry department.



GEOFFREY G. GEIST,’14 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has joined Franco Public Relations as an account executive.

RACHEL N. BURNARD, ’16 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has joined Franco Public Relations as an assistant account executive.