Skip navigation
Return to Issue

President's Perspective

  • Author:
    M. Peter McPherson
  • Published:
    Spring 2004

            Welcome to another issue of the MSU Alumni Magazine.  The spring semester has been an exciting time at Michigan State University.

            Our students and recent graduates have won many prestigious national honors. Jared English of Jackson, and Greta Stahl of Shelby Township, have been named Marshall Scholars.  Daniel Bouk of Cincinnati and Julie Bashkin of Chicago are recipients of the 2004 Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships in Humanistic Studies.  Jerilyn Church of Eagle Butte, South Dakota, was named a Morris K. Udall Scholar.  Ten MSU students received Fulbright Fellowships.  Finally, the MSU Debate Team defeated the top-ranked team from the University of California-Berkeley to win the 58th Annual National Debate Tournament championship.

            We continue to strive to remain a bold and innovative leader in higher education.  Faculty members in the College of Human Medicine are considering an expansion of our top-ranked programs to Grand Rapids. We are engaged in a Vision 2004 process designed to strengthen undergraduate education, increase enrollment in our residential education programs, enhance graduate education, and consider a major realignment of some of our colleges and academic programs.

            The budget situation remains difficult, but we continue to be a leader in cost-control and tuition restraint.  MSU was the first university in Michigan to commit to a fall tuition rate increase that would not exceed inflation. Our housing rates remain among the lowest in the Big Ten.

            The alumni association has put together another fine issue that showcases some of the things that make your alma mater such a wonderful and promising place, such as the visionary plans for a new state-of-the-art music building and the exciting partnership between our College of Education and Detroit Public Schools spearheaded by a donation by the Eli Broad Foundation. 


M. Peter McPherson