Skip navigation
Return to Stories

W-Golfers Repeat as Big Ten Champs

By Robert Bao

  • Published: 08/06/2012
W-Golfers are Big Ten champions again!


The No. 23 MSU women’s golf team won its second straight Big Ten Championship—10th in program history—with a 10-stroke margin in April at the Donald Ross Course, French Lick Resort, IN.  Overall, MSU shot a 21-over 885 (298-292-295) in claiming back-to-back Big Ten titles for the first time since winning five in a row from 1974-78.  "I'm just so proud of our team to repeat as Big Ten Champions," says MSU head coach Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll, who won her fourth Big Ten title (2001, 2007, 2011, 2012).  Slobodnik-Stoll was named Big Ten Coach of the Year.  Senior Lindsey Solberg and junior Carolyn Powers each finished tied for third at 218.  They both earned Big Ten All-Championship honors.  Sophomore Allyssa Ferrell tied for 14th while sophomore Liz Nagel tied for 18th.  Sophomore Christine Meier tied for 36th overall with a 235.

Discover More