Skip navigation
Return to Issue

Class Notes

  • Author:
  • Published:
    Spring 2016


RITCH K. EICH, MA ’68 (Education), has published his latest leadership book, Truth, Trust + Tenacity: How Ordinary People Become Extraordinary Leaders, the proceeds of which will all be donated to children’s hospitals.

BARBARA K. KINCAID, ’68 (Communication Arts and Sciences), just published a memoir entitled Come Live With Me: A Memoir of Family, Alzheimer’s, and Hope, where she discusses how she cared for her ailing mother and looks back to her time as a student at MSU.

JAMES C. VOTRUBA, ’68, MA ’70 (Both in Social Science), was named a Great Living Cincinnatian for his dedication to leadership and service to the Cincinnati area through his time as president of Northern Kentucky University.


WILLIAM C. ALSOVER, ’71 (Business), was recently elected to the Fremont Area Community Foundation Board of Trustees to guide operations, strategic direction and grant allocations.    

SUZANNE K. MURRMANN, MLIR ’77 (Social Science), was conferred the title of professor emerita by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors.


JEFFREY R. COLE, ’85 (Communication Arts and Sciences), has been named Public Resources Director for Lake County, Florida.

JORGE G. GONZALEZ, MA ’86, PhD ’89 (Social Science), has been appointed the 18th president of Kalamazoo College, effective July 1.

COLLEEN C. HALEY, ’89, MLIR ’90 (Both in Social Science), was named the Global Head for Yazaki Corporation’s Ford Business Unit as well as Chairman of Yazaki’s operations in the Mercosur region.

MARK J. HAWKINS, ’81 (Business) was selected for Institutional Investors’ All American Executive Team for 2016 as the second best CFO in the software industry.

RONALD L. HENDRICK, ’86, PHD ’92 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), has been selected as dean of MSU’s College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. His appointment begins July 1.

MATTHEW J. JOYCE, ’81 (Natural Science), has been named vice president and general manager for Strategic and Missile Defense Systems for Lockheed Martin in Sunnyvale, California.

PAMELA D. LEWIS, ’86 (Engineering), was named director of the New Economy Initiative for Southeast Michigan.

DENNIS C. MUCHMORE, MPA, ’82 (Social Science), has left his position as Michigan Governor Rick Snyder’s Chief of Staff. Muchmore will now lead the Honigman Firm’s Government Relations and Regulatory Practice Group.


DOUGLAS J. PETERS, ’92 (Engineering), has been named as president of Christman Constructors, Inc., one of the country’s leading professional construction services firms.

AMANDA M. RORAFF, ’99 (James Madison), was promoted to vice president of marketing and communications of NextEnergy, a Detroit-based non-profit organization.

TRABIAN D. SHORTERS, ’91 (Communication Arts and Sciences), was honored as member of the Pahara-Aspen Education Fellows Program, a program that recognizes and supports individuals who work to better public education.


OLUBUNMI A. AKINYEMIJU, ’00 (Engineering), founded Venture Garden Nigeria, a holding company for financial entities that provide technology in emerging markets.

LAURA C. CASAI, ’06 (Agriculture and Natural Resources) was named to the 2016 class of Oakland County Executive’s Elite 40 Under 40 list for her role as director of Interior Design at TMP Architecture, Inc.

MICHAEL A. ENNES, ’01 (Business), has been named as vice president of Residential Branding & Operations for Federal Realty Investment Trust (FRIT) at Pallas Property Executive in Washington, DC.

MELISSA A. HUMPHREY, ’04 (Agriculture and Natural Resources), won the Phelps-Martin Award for Community Service for her volunteer work with the Family Fun at the Farm program in Michigan’s Clinton and Ionia counties.

JOSEPH P. HUPY, PhD ’05 (Social Science), is the project lead on a research team that has received a $50,000 grant regarding geospatial mining research at the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire.

ANGELA L. MADDEN, ’01 (Social Science), has been named the executive director of the Michigan Association of Ambulance Services.

KAHLER B. SCHUEMANN, MA ’04 (Education), has been named secretary to the Western Michigan University Board of Trustees.

MICHAEL H. WEBER, ’08 (Business), was named vice president, Hotel Operations of Weber’s Inn in Ann Arbor.

HALLEE J. WINNIE, ’06 (Social Science), was named executive director for Pi Beta Phi Foundation in Town & Country, Missouri.


JEFFREY G. GRAD, ’10 (Business), was promoted to manager of Baker Tilley Virchow Krause, LLP after serving as a senior accountant for five years.

ANDREW J. SANDERS, ’10 (Business), was named a senior accountant at Baker Tilley Virchow Krause, LLP.

BRIAN WEBER, ’11 (Business), was named vice president, Food and Beverage at Weber’s Inn in Ann Arbor.

JI HO YOON, PhD ’15 (Business), has joined the faculty of Worcester Polytechnic Institute and will participate as a researcher and educator.