Skip navigation

Past Recipients

1994 Alumni Award Recipients

Alumni Service Award

Mr. John Depew Barkham

Mr. John L Black

Dr. Richard W Storey D.V.M.

Mrs. Elizabeth Carlton VanLiere

Distinguished Alumni Award

Mr. John Mathias Engler

Mr. R. Drayton McLane

Drayton McLane, Jr., MBA '59, is chairman of the McLane Group, Texas, and CEO and owner of the Houston Astros. He committed $4 million to build the McLane Baseball Stadium in Old College Field, the largest commitment to an Olympic sport in MSU history, and second largest cash gift in the history of Spartan athletics. The lead gift expedited additional major gifts to the project and also allowed the MSU Athletics Department to meet all campaign objectives. A member of the Forbes 400 list, McLane credits MSU with helping shape his success in business. He has received several awards from MSU'an Honorary Doctor of Humanities degree in 1997, a Distinghished Alumni Award in 1994, and the Baseball Alumnus of the Year Award in 2008.

Mrs. Kate Pew Wolters

Mr. Walter C. Willett

Honorary Alumni Award

Mr. F Gibson Butler

Mr. Herbert H Dow