Skip navigation

Past Recipients

2008 Alumni Award Recipients

Alumni Service Award

Mrs. Barbara J Sawyer-Koch

Donald Koch and Barbara Sawyer-Koch have given of themselves tirelessly to Michigan State University for many years. Donald is a professor emeritus of philosophy and Barbara a 1990 M.P.A. graduate of the College of Social Science who spent 16 years as a member of the MSU Board of Trustees. In addition to their volunteer work on behalf of the university, the Kochs have made significant investments to help further MSU's research, collaborative strengths and global reach in identifying and implementing solutions to increase environmental sustainability. The Kochs have established 'The Fate of the Earth Endowment' at MSU, crafted to take advantage of interdisciplinary efforts to harness knowledge among MSU faculty and students with insights from worldclass environmental scholars sharing technological, ethical and policy perspectives. Their endowment will bring noted world scholars to MSU to speak to students and faculty about sustainability, with programs recorded for sharing worldwide. The endowment will also identify cross disciplinary faculty experts who will be called upon to provide an environmental perspective for a diverse selection of campus courses and will support the Donald Koch Distinguished Lectureships held annually. In alignment with their endowment, the Kochs established the Koch Environmental Studies Spartan Scholarship Challenge award in 2010 as a needs-based scholarship for freshman and sophomore students. Through their estate plans, they will establish a special endowment fund for the MSU Library, a scholarship fund in the College of Osteopathic Medicine for students committed to serving rural Michigan and a supplemental discretionary fund to the Office of the Provost. In 2010, the Kochs funded the Ruth Jameyson Above and Beyond Award that supports non-academic staff members who are pursuing a postbaccalaureate degree. Additionally, they have made gifts to fund glass displays in the main MSU Library, an Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching award, the Jazz Studies program and WKAR.

Mr. Clarence Alan Stewart

Mr. Stephen P Wolf

Ms. Karen Bole Wolf

Distinguished Alumni Award

Mr. Henry C Butler

Dr. Robert Goodman Ph.D.

Ms. Diane Lynn Neal

Mr. Russell Eugene Palmer

Dr. Sharif M Shakrani Ph.D.


Honorary Alumni Award

Dr. Mordechai Kreinin

Young Alumni Award

The Honorable Christopher C Brown

Mr. Ryan A. Vartoogian