Skip navigation

Past Recipients

2010 Alumni Award Recipients

Alumni Service Award

Mr. David E Havrilla

David Havrilla, '70, is a retired insurance agent in Okemos, Michigan. During his career, he was active raising funds for organizations such as the Red Cross, Haven House, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, the Lansing Ballet Association, Easter Seals, Camp Highfields, United Way, Ingham County Fine Arts Committee, St. Martha School of Okemos, and other community organizations. He was renowned for his tireless fundraising efforts throughout the community. Many of his fundraising activities were in concert with MSU, where he is a member of the Snyder Society, Landon Society and Wharton Legacy Circle. He has served as a past president and board member of the Mid-Michigan Alumni Club, and as a member of the Wharton Center Advisory Council from 1988-1990. He regularly drives MSU dignitaries in his 1972 green Cutlass convertible during the Homecoming Parade. In 2009, he created a tailgate cookbook that raised more than $20,000 for Haven House.

Mr. George Leland Rock

George 'Lee' Rock, '49, retired in 1990 after 36 years with the Dow Chemical Company in Midland, Michigan, in the research and patent departments. He has served as president of the Instruments Society of America, and in many leadership roles with the Rotary Club. He was president for three years of the Service Corps of Retired Executives. He is co-founder of the Cadillac Area Conservancy. He has been inducted into the Michigan 4-H Emerald Clover Society. He has supported the MSU Electrical Engineering Design Day Humanitarian Project. Professionally Rock worked as an electrical engineer in Milwaukee, and then joined Dow for the next 36 years, working as both engineer and as a business executive in research, patent and business development. After retirement, he worked as a venture capitalist partnering with MSU to identify and develop patents related to technology.

Distinguished Alumni Award

Mr. Bill Livingood

The Hon. Wilson Livingood, '61, has served as Sergeant at Arms of the U.S. House of Representatives since 1995. An elected officer, he is the chief law enforcement and protocol officer for the legislative body. He is only the 36th person to hold this post since 1789. Previously he spent 33 years as a special agent with the U.S. Secret Service, serving as executive assistant to the director from 1989-95. Livingood is a participating member of the International Association of Police Chiefs, the Texas Police Association, and the National Sheriff's Association. He serves as a resource for MSU social science students, providing tours of the U.S. Capitol for students in professional development classes or internship programs in Washington, D.C. He received the U.S. Treasury's Meritorious Service Award, and was inducted into the MSU School of Criminal Justice Wall of Fame in 2000.

Mr. Craig R Murray

Craig Murray, '76, is the owner, founder and CEO of the CMP Entertainment Group in Burbank, California, one of the largest creative agencies and production companies in entertainment with 150 employees in four offices. CMP clients include Disney, Warner Brothers, Fox, Paramount, the Discovery Channel, Microsoft, TLC, Universal and Sony Pictures. CMP has spearheaded more than 500 motion picture campaigns, and received more than 400 major industry awards. Murray's company has maintained an ongoing internship program with MSU's College of Communication Arts and Sciences since 1990'hosting more than 10 MSU interns and hiring more than 20 MSU graduates. One of Murray's clients is fellow Spartan Bill Mechanic, co-producer of this year's Oscars, who hired Murray to produce the nomination film clips for the Academy Awards show. A member of MSU's Abbot Society, Murray received the MSU Alumni Association's 'Alumni Service Award' in 1997.Congratulations Craig, you are great Spartan and a good friend.(By the way, we are swimming as you read this.) The Lafontants

Honorary Alumni Award

Mr. Angelo Rafael Oricchio

Angelo Oricchio, a native of Sao Paulo, Brazil, is a very successful entrepreneur and a great humanitarian. In 1984 he became general manager of Cafe Pinhal, a coffee exporting business in Santos, Brazil. In 1990 he joined Paramount Coffee Company in Lansing, Michigan, becoming vice president in 1991 and CEO in 2005. Since 2002 he has played a key role in MSU's Partherships for Food Industry Development (PFID) to help create sustainable outcomes in Guatemala and Nicaragua. He also supported MSU's efforts in Rwanda through the Partnership for Enhancing Agriculture in Rwanda through Linkages (PEARL). Working with MSU, he has helped raise money to help coffee growers in Rwanda and other causes. Last May he coordinated a project that culminated in the distribution of 400 goats among the coffee growers of Gashonga, Rwanda, helping cement the relationship between Rwanda farmers, MSU and Paramount. As a part of this project, he also contributes 50 percent of the value of each bag of Rwandan coffee sold via MSU Students Advancing International Development'money that helps buy vaccines for various communities.

Philanthropist Award

Mr. Edward I Schalon

Marcella (Marcie) Schalon, '46, MA '47, and Ed Schalon (posthumous), have given MSU $2.3 million in cash gifts, including $1.7 million to the Eli Broad College of Business to establish the William C. and Martha H. Gast Business Library Endowment in honor of Marcie's parents; $450,00 for the Change at Childhood Clinic Endowment; more than $200,000 in gifts during the 1992-95 capital campaign; and many smaller gifts to the Spartan Fund, the Wharton Center for Performing Arts, the MSU Libraries Endowment Fund, F.A. Mike Jones Memorial Fund, and MSU Safe Place. Schalon is currently in the process of establishing an endowed scholarship in the College of Communication Arts and Sciences through a $250,000 cash gift and a $250,000 charitable annuity in honor of her daughter Susan Schalon.